Month: February 2015

US President talks about Data Science

Posted on

Check out the video of US President talking about Data Science and the first Chief Data Scientist of the USA talks about his mission.

Advertisements

Oracle ACEs at OUG Ireland 2015

Posted on

The annual Oracle User Group in Ireland Conference will be on Thursday 19th March. This year the conference will be held in the Croke Park conference centre. This conference centre is only a short taxi ride from Dublin Airport and Dublin City Centre.

If you are planning a hotel stay for the conference I would recommend staying in a hotel in the city centre and get a taxi to/from the conference venue.

We have a large number of Oracle ACEs presenting at the conference. The following table lists the ACEs, their twitter handle and their website.

table.myTable { border-collapse:collapse; } table.myTable td, table.myTable th { border:1px solid black;padding:5px; }

Oracle ACE Type of ACE Twitter Name Blog / Web Site
Brendan Tierney ACE Director @brendantierney http://www.oralytics.com
Debra Lilley ACE Director @debralilley http://www.debrasoracle.blogspot.ie/
Jonathan Lewis ACE Director @JLOracle http://jonathanlewis.wordpress.com/
Tim Hall ACE Director @oraclebase http://oracle-base.com/
Alex Nuijten ACE Director @alexnuijten http://nuijten.blogspot.com/
Dhananjay Papde ACE Associate
Stewart Bryson ACE Director @stewartbryson http://www.redpillanalytics.com/
Antony Heljula ACE @aheljula http://www.peakindicators.com/
Gurcan Orhan ACE Director @gurcan_orhan https://gurcanorhan.wordpress.com/
Heli Helskyaho ACE Director @HeliFromFinland https://helifromfinland.wordpress.com/
Marco Gralike ACE Director @mgralike http://www.xmldb.nl
Roel Hartman ACE Director @roelh http://roelhartman.blogspot.com/
Martin Widlake ACE @mdwidlake https://mwidlake.wordpress.com/
Liron Amitzi ACE @amitzil http://www.dbaces.com/
David Kurtz ACE Director @davidmkurtz http://www.go-faster.co.uk/
Marcin Przepiorowski ACE @pioro http://oracleprof.blogspot.com/

Make sure you check out the full agenda for the conference by clicking on the following image. Plus there is a full day session on Friday 20th March with Maria Colgan on the Oracle In-Memory option.

Ougire15 hp cfp v2

My OTN 2 Minute Tech Tip: Predictive Queries

Posted on

A few days ago I recorded a 2-minute tech tip with Bob Hubbard of OTN.

My topic was on Predictive Queries which are a new feature in the Oracle 12c Database.

The challenge was to talk about the topic within 2 minutes. That is a lot harder than you time. Believe me.

Check out the video on the Bobs OTN 2-Minute Tech Tip channel or click on the link below.

It was fun doing this and hopefully I get a chance to do another video with Bob.

Here is a screen capture of when things were being recorded.

OTN tech tip